Dinner With Lincoln

Lincoln Book Combo

Dinner With Lincoln
Doris Kearns Goodwin

Presidential Historian, Pulitzer Prize Winning Author,
Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln

Presenting Sponsor:
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona

Honorary Dinner Co-Chairs:
Maryglenn & Rich Boals

Dinner Co-Chairs:
Sue Glawe & Gay Firestone Wray

Senator Jon Kyl

The Sandra Day O'Connor Institute Annual History Dinner will take place Friday, November 10, 2107 featuring Pulitzer Prize winner and Presidential historian Doris Kearns Goodwin. “Dinner With Lincoln” will honor one of our nation’s most revered Presidents.

The focus of the evening will be Ms. Goodwin’s # 1 best-seller, Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln. She will discuss Abraham Lincoln's political genius, as the one-term congressman and prairie lawyer who rose from obscurity to prevail over three gifted rivals of national reputation to become president. Team of Rivals was awarded the prestigious Lincoln Prize, the inaugural Book Prize for American History, and Goodwin in 2016 was the first historian to receive the Lincoln Leadership Prize from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Foundation.

Following her remarks, she will join Senator Jon Kyl for a short “fireside chat” to discuss further insight about President Lincoln. Dinner guests will receive a signed copy of her book.

The O'Connor Institute will present Doris Kearns Goodwin with its "Spirit of Democracy" award for her body of work in educating citizens about our nation's history. It was Goodwin's experience as a 24-year-old White House Fellow, working directly for President Johnson as an assistant in his last year in the White House, and later assisting him in the preparation of his memoirs, that fueled her interest in becoming a presidential historian and author.

Goodwin is the author of six critically acclaimed and New York Times best-selling books, including The Bully Pulpit: Theodore Roosevelt; William Howard Taft: The Golden Age of Journalism; No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt; The Home Front in World War II for which she was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in history; Wait Till Next Year, Lyndon Johnson and the American Dream and The Fitzgeralds and the Kennedys. Goodwin is currently working on her next project on leadership – a look at how Lincoln, FDR, LBJ and Teddy Roosevelt became leaders and how they led, for release this spring.

Stay Connected

Register Today for News and Event Updates

Follow Us